The Night-Before Jitters

It’s 1:00 am and I can’t sleep! This is pretty normal for me on the night before I travel. My brain just won’t quit running through all the little missions that need to get accomplished in the morning before I can go, all the lists of things I need to make sure I don’t forget to bring (chargers, headphones, boarding passes, IDs), and all the ideas I have for what I’m going to do when I finally get to some of these destinations!

I’ve been thinking about going on this trip for almost two years and actively planning it since I got back from my trip to Minneapolis with the St. John’s crew back in February. And when I say planning, I mean planning – the spreadsheet I have going for this trip is totally mental, even for me.

My bag has been packed for three days now and currently weighs in at just over 40 lbs (which is good, because that’s the limit for carry-on baggage on VIA Rail). I’m telling myself that hiking through cities with that thing on is my workout for the next month-and-a-half! I fiFullSizeRendernished packing up my room in SJC today. It was a bittersweet experience, packing up my last dorm room and saying my goodbyes to all the amazing friends of made here over the last year – exciting because it means I’ve moving on to the next act of my life, but sad because I’m saying goodbye to the place that has been home for the last four years.

My first train leaves Winnipeg today at 11:45 am and arrives in Vancouver at 9:42 am on Wednesday morning. I then have three minutes to try to run and catch the early ferry to Victoria!

This is my first time ever going west of Winnipeg, and it will be my first time seeing mountains since my uncle’s wedding in 2012. After four years on the prairies, I might just poop my pants when I see them!

I want to say a quick “thank you” to everyone who has supported this trip. It means so much to me!

I can’t wait to share this adventure with all of you! And if you have any recommendations for things I need to see and do, let me know!

 

Leave a Reply

