Day Six

Mom left at 3:34 am today to fly back into Minneapolis in time for Lilly’s senior prom. We said our goodbyes and I grabbed a few more hours of sleep before waking up to start packing things up at Paul’s and get ready for the day.

I walked up to Floyd’s Diner to meet Adrienne, one of the counselors I worked with at Camp Ihduhapi my first summer there. It was so fun to catch up with her and hear about her life in Victoria, where she’s been attending university. And, of course, it was great to trade stories about all the weird things our campers used to do. The food was fabulous, and thankfully we had plenty of time to walk around Victoria for a while after we finished.

We walked down to Government Street and looked in at some of the shops there. There was a great Etsy market taking place at Market Square, so we walked around to see some of what it had to offer. Our favorite thing were these adorable little monster stuffed animals! They were so cute, you should check them out: https://www.etsy.com/shop/myfriendmonster. Afterwards, we made our way closer to Paul’s and took a detour down Fan Tan Alley. We stopped in to a record store, again to see if there was any Prince to be found.

We walked all the way back to Paul’s, crossing some of the route for the Victoria 10K tomorrow (good luck running, Adrienne) and said our goodbyes. I then frantically packed to get everything squared away before making the long walk down Douglas to the bus station to get on the bus to the ferry.

On the bus, I met two really nice women from L.A., Patty and Donna. Patty actually used to live in Edina and went to Our Lady of Grace with Michelle Nanne; Michelle’s youngest son Michael was a year below me at BSM — small world! Patty, Donna, and I hung out on the ferry, desperately walking around in hopes of seeing an orca. Unfortunately I must cede defeat on that goal — I didn’t see any freakin’ whales out there (but I guess now I have an excuse to come back). The bus pulled off the ferry and began a slow and rainy ride through downtown Vancouver. I said goodbye to Patty and Donna before trying to make the trek to my hostel. Eventually, I gave up and grabbed a cab to get out of the rain. I checked in, threw my bag into the locker in my room, and jetted off on a bit of a misadventure to meet up with my friend Rukshila for dinner (I took a bus going the wrong way and wound up near the Lululemon world HQ… oops).

After some harried calls to a taxi company, I finally made it to St. Augustine’s, a great little brew pub Rukshila had picked out. More delicious food, and more catching up with a great friend who I’ve missed so much since she moved out to B.C. to finish her studies. We’ve both had some pretty eventful things happen since last we saw each other, so there was a lot of catching up to do. Rukshila was so sweet and gave me a ride back to the hostel, only to get briefly blocked from leaving by a skunk who wouldn’t get out of her way.

I got brief introductions to my roommates at the hostel, who were all getting ready for bed and packing to leave. I’m also out of here tomorrow to catch the bus to Whistler in the afternoon. I’m so excited to get a day of skiing in, especially because I’ve had my eye on Whistler since I saw the area during the 2010 Vancouver Olympics. On that note, it’s time to get some sleep so I don’t end up dead on my feet!

P.S. — Happy Prom to all the Red Knights back home, and happy first tech rehearsal to the cast and crew of The Drowsy Chaperone. The is the first show in ten years I haven’t worked on, and with it being the last for some of the first students I ever trained, it’s hard not to be there. I hope you know that I’m thinking of all of you and wish I could be there with you!

P.P.S. — Game of Thrones starts again tomorrow and I’d be lying if I didn’t say that I’m praying for some kind of viewing party at the hostel in Whistler!

Leave a Reply

