Day Thirty-Six

I started my Victoria Day, known as National Patriotes’ Day here in Québec, with a “sufferers’ breakfast” with Christine and Haylee. Josh and Mitch joined us after a while, killing time before they had to leave for the airport to catch their flights. We spent the morning and most of the afternoon talking about everything from our greatest going out stories to our worst and most annoying travel experiences (you never know what you’ll get when you order “fries” in North America, apparently). Eventually the boys had to leave, which was heartbreaking.

With goodbyes exchanged with wishes for future plans, Haylee, Christine, and I settled in to come up with a plan for the day. We had time to kill before the hostel group headed out to Piknic Électronik, so we got caught up on the latest episode of Game of Thrones. We all needed some rest after that, so we broke to take naps.

We met up with the rest of the hostel crew in the lobby, then Gabrielle led us to Parc Jean-Drapeau for Piknic Électronik. Every Sunday (or holiday Monday) in the summer, DJs come into Parc Jean-Drapeau to play from about noon to 9:30 pm. There are a few different stages, lots of places to chill out, and plenty of food trucks and tent bars to enjoy while you’re in the park. One of the spots we started in actually had a cool soccer-billiards game set up that some people from the hostel enjoyed for a while before we all moved to the big stage to see Ben UFO and Four Tet, both DJs from the UK.

As everyone moved to the big stage, I went back to the entrance to meet up with none other than Megan! I’m so excited that we got to meet up for the third time on this trip and enjoy Piknic together with the hostel group. We danced the night away, but somehow Megan and I lost everyone else.

She and I hopped on the métro back to our respective hostels and made a plan to meet up again tomorrow and execute our supreme karaoke plan for tomorrow’s pub crawl.

When I got back to the hostel, I stopped in to make some food and hang out with everyone at the bar. I had a conversation about Judy Garland with an 85-year-old painter who was staying for the night before decided it was time to turn in before 4:00 am at least one night while here in Montréal.

I did make arrangements to stay here an extra day and I’m so excited. I don’t know exactly what I’ll do tomorrow, but I’m sure it will be another great day in this awesome city with these wonderful people. It’s been a great May Long here, and even with the extra day, I’ll be really sad to leave.

I also got a few messages from Josh tonight saying his flight was delayed and he might come join us for Piknic, but ultimately he wasn’t able to. He, Mitch, and I are hoping to plan a trip together sometime after my first contract, though, so we’ll see each other again soon!

Leave a Reply

