Day Forty-Two

There really is not much at all to report from my last day of traveling. I’m definitely tired here on Day 42, and it showed in what I managed to do today. I read, I listened to music, I napped, and occasionally I looked out the window at all the lakes passing by.

I’m sad that this trip is nearly over. It has been an amazing forty-two days exploring Canada. Even after all the thinking about maybe taking this trip, then the actual hardcore planning, it’s hard to believe I actually did it, much less that it ends tomorrow.

I have seen so much more of this beautiful country that I have come to love as my second home than I ever thought I would. From the oceans of B.C. to the mountains in Alberta, to the cities of the east and even the prairies I’m so prone to gripe about, this is a gorgeous place. I feel so fortunate that I had the time and means to get out and see all that I have, and I have to say “thank you” to everyone who made this possible.

I will never forget all the amazing people I met on this trip. Some I only spent a day with, others nearly a week, and others I met many times along the way, but each and every one is a friend I’m happy to have made. In a time when people complain and rightly worry about the loss of genuine connection between people, this trip showed me that it’s not a lost art, just one that takes a little seeking out. The effort you put in to meeting people and getting to know them, no matter how short a time you spend with them, is always worth it, and I hope I can continue to live according to that lesson long after I step off this train.

It will be very strange to go back to a semblance of “normal life” after this amazing adventure. No more trains, no more mountain hikes, no more wild pub crawls… at least for a while. I’m excited for where life is taking me next though; it will be an adventure in and of itself.

Tomorrow I’ll wake up in Winnipeg. The next day, I’ll walk across the stage at my university convocation to collect my degree. And the day after that, I’ll leave Canada with no immediate plans to return for the first time in four years. It will be like leaving home for the first time all over again. I can hardly wait for the next time I’ll be able to come back. And if some of the people who have made Canada home to me aren’t there, well I guess I’ll just have to make some more homes in other parts of the world!

Leave a Reply

